Tuesday, September 20, 2005

Bye Bye Quads

Chopper: Oh, Keithy. I always thought I was a good bloke.
Keithy George: Ha. What did you ever do that was good?
Chopper: Well, I bashed you. That was good, wasn't it? It was good for a bit of a giggle, anyway.

Some readers may question why I refer to my significant other as the “Distraction”, and I have the perfect example ready here for you.

I also try to play when my Distraction is out of the house or already in bed, but I have been getting more lax about this rule as of late. The other night, I’m having a good session on Titan, up about 25BB in very quick fashion after having hit a few hands when the Distraction comes home, going a mile a minute talking about nothing important (more giddy that it was Friday and work for the week was over). I am two tabling, which is usually my limit anyways, but at one of the table I am dealt A7s in late position. I have been killing the table, with the deck fair smacking me in the face, so I am actually thinking about raising with this suited ace in this position if it is not raised before me. UTG +2 does raise it, so I change my mind and decide just to call – all the while still trying to talk to the distraction. When I look back at the screen to see the flop, I don’t see any cards in front of me. I had folded instead of called.

Now most people would say this was my fault, but we know that is simply not true. How could the “World’s Greatest Poker Blogger Ever” make such a mistake? I was fully Distracted. And what was on the flop? T77, turn was the case 7. The pot ended up being 22BB without me in it. I wasn’t impressed and logged out immediately as there was no chance I could play optimal poker from that point on. It also started a massive down swing that lasted for all but 15 minutes of the weekend.

There are some massive holes in my game, but I just can’t figure out what they are. Is it luck? I don’t know, but there have been a lot of times that I have had cards like AK get done by A5, a few out kicked losses and the such. I am noticing I am winning a lot of small pots and loosing the bigger ones, which is not good. I had a very quick NL session, and flopped a straight with A5 and eventually got all the money in the middle against 66 who had two pair only. That helped, and I cashed out up $69 from that small session. I may think about having more of a crack at the NL games if my bank roll can survive it.


TripJax said...

Does the Distraction read this blog?

Heafy said...


SirFWALGMan said...

To Answer your buyin question: Yes, maybe, hell I dunno. I had a $200 bankroll. I was mitigation playing above my head slightly. Also, in limit, does it matter if you have a lower loss limit as long as you have enough to cap every street if you have a monster? I dunno. I think as an aside, since I have been practicing being AGGRESSIVE it gives me a little cushion for when I get too aggro and blow a stack. Makes me feel safer.